Do you have a minute?

I am a big fan of meditation. But I have a hard time selling it. Words can not truly express the experience . It is something you need to try, and try again. It is called a meditation practice for a reason. Initially lots of thoughts creep in, you feel awkward and it seems like a waste of time. Silence and non-doing, is not respected in our culture. We thrive on being busy and productive. We all wonder, ” Am I doing it right ?” I believe there is no wrong way to meditate. Rocco my cat,  likes to be part of my meditation time. What’s more calming than a warm fuzzy pal snuggled up to you expressing unconditional love? You don’t need to sit in lotus position for hours to get some benefits. Even a few moments can be valuable. Just developing some space between thoughts can be enough. What’s your belief about silence? Meditation? I encourage you to give it a whirl! Maybe one minute a day?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Every year one of my “resolutions” is to further develop my meditation practice. I sit and begin and the thoughts begin to flow. I’m doing this wrong, who does this stuff, what the heck is going on, why do I have to go to work today, blah, blah, blah and then I quit. Then I try again. I think your right when u say our culture doesn’t respect silence and non doing. My goal is to continue to “practice” silence and non doing. Thank you for reminding me of this important aspect of our self care

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Meditation is a great example of ” the law of little things” (see older post for more on that subject). It’s something that might feel small in the moment. It’s like drips of water in a bucket! That shit adds up!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep hearing about the benefits of meditation, and I keep trying and failing. My therapist says my mind goes too fast for meditation to work, but I keep wanting to try. Any advice? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Short spurts. Possibly laying down so you don’t have to be distracted by being uncomfortable. Set timer for one minute everyday! Focus on your breath. Close your eyes. Breath in and out through your nose! Eventually expand your time. Keep reading about it too! Information will inspire you!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. When Charley and I started meditation we were told to choose a mantra, something that would not be very distracting. One day, out of curiosity, I asked Charley about his mantra. He told me it was “Golf ball”. “What! Did you not hear the part that said it shouldn’t be distracting? “It’s not distracting. It’s helpful. I picture myself out on a golf course and I forget all about the snow.” He answered.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      That’s awesome!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. He loves to golf and now if I could just get him to meditate about something else.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

