I’m choosing to be positive, damn it!!!

“There is the situation, and there is everything we bring to it”. ~Sharon Salzberg. (Meditation teacher and one of my favorite authors on that subject). I used to be significantly more pissy. Being optimistic has been a learning process for me. When stressed, I can easily slip into, “We’re doomed! This will never work.” I try to keep a chipper vibe going because it just feels better, for me, when I look for the bright side. It’s not always easy seeing my glass as half full in a room full of empties. Sometimes I shut my eyes, hold my glass high and repeat in my head,” I can do this!” Even if it turns out, the pessimists are right…”I can get through this, I can get through this, I can get through this.”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Becky says:

    I absolutely agree, Michelle! My mother was negative, so that was my model and I was her clone in so many ways. Sometime in my 40’s I realized I could change my negative approach to life (especially when it came to comparisons…who likes who more than me, who has more than I, etc). I began slowly. First I learned to recognized my negative reaction/response, then I acknowledged it, then I took time to process my reaction and turn it around. I have come to believe the purpose of life is one thing: relationships. Based on that belief, I can allow myself to be hurt by someone by realizing they might be in a hard place and need understanding. Or know they, too, are broken and need to be loved (aren’t we ALL broken to different degrees?!). Or, know that I just don’t want them in my circle, if the pattern continues and I don’t want to expose myself to their stings. Going through life with a positive countenance has made a huge difference in my life. What goes around comes around. People forgive me my faults. Good and positive things flow both ways…guaranteed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lisa says:

      I also mirrored the negative thoughts until I realized that I just didn’t want to do it anymore. It’s so much easier to be positive when we exercise and release endorphins, but it does take time to break the habit of being negative.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth says:

    When one of my co-workers first came to our office, she was always happy and positive. I couldn’t stand her!!! I used to call her Polly (you know Pollyanna!) But over the years we developed a very deep relationship and basically one of the most important things I have learned in life was from her. “its all in the attitude”. No truer words were ever spoken. We can choose to be bitter, miserable, jealous, envious people or we can choose joy and happiness. I’m not perfect at it and some days are better than others, but most days I choose happiness!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. plankful says:

    I’m so thankful for your comments. They added depth to my entry. It’s so valuable to share your experience and know other people have the same struggle! Not everyone is a comment-er! But others are reading this and thinking too. Some people have never tried to be more positive. They haven’t experienced the control we have over our moods! Thank you ladies for sharing!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

