It’s All In Your Head

If you are trying to figure out how to achieve your wellness/ fitness goals…consider trying what one of my favorite authors, Dr. Wayne Dyer suggests. “Think from the end.” Visualize yourself already where you want to be! Don’t get caught up in the barriers. Take small steps towards what you need to do to get there. We can look at our behaviors and ask ourselves if it will bring us closer or further from that mental image. The mind is very powerful. If we focus more on the obstacles, than the positive result, that’s where our energy goes. A few years ago I wanted to see how much weight I could lift. This experiment was just for fun! First, I would visualize the weight being lifted. I started with light weight and would increase it by a few pounds weekly. In a relatively short period of time, I could lift this entire stack! Once I accomplished this, I moved to another machine. These stunts were a confidence builder and true validation of the mind body connection. What do you want to achieve? What are you willing to do to get there?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. plankful says:

    The follow up to that story would be the power of negative feedback. When people at the gym started telling me I was going to blow out a knee, it shook my confidence and impacted my performance. Obviously you need to be aware of physical conditions and safety. We need to analyze how much of your choices are shaped by negative talk or reality.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    LOVE this post Michele!!! It is so important to realize what we can do when “we think we can”!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      We are more powerful than we give ourselves credit for! Look at you MS Bench Press!!!!

      Like

Leave a comment