It Feels Good To Be A Gangsta

I clearly know I am a 46 year old white woman who lives in NH, not Compton. I also know have a strong love for rap music. Nothing gets me going like Cypress Hill! When I blare Jay Z or Flo Rida in my ear buds I feel like I can conquer the world! I have achieved my most impressive physical achievements while listening to inappropriate lyrics about booties poppin and homies in the hood. I also use music to motivate myself to vacuum, clean the cat box and to do other things I might not feel like doing. Music and mood are definitely linked. Music is a powerful force! Dr. Costas Karageorghis, is a Psychologist who studies the effect of music on exercise and says “music is a type of legal performance enhancing drug.” What kind of music motivates you? Next time you are thinking about skipping a work out, have that song ready to play and see what happens. Dr. K also believes lyrics are important when picking your play list. Some songs can be full of positive affirmations. ” I like to move it move it. I like to move it move it!”

Leave a Reply

