Two Tickets To Paradise

Meditation isn’t just for hippies. I’m so glad my husband decided to become an avid meditator. Since he’s covered in tattoos and drives a Harley, he brings an element to meditation a therapist can’t. The cool factor. When I promote meditation it sounds like another touchy feely counseling technique. When he tells people he meditates, they are intrigued. I’m ok with this dynamic. We are a good team. If we are pursuing a loan, I lead with my social worker “do gooder” reputation. We each bring our unique traits to this partnership. I believe meditation is part of keeping yourself healthy emotionally. If you haven’t given meditation a consistent try, make a list of your barriers. If your list includes, I can’t quiet my mind, I’m too busy or I never tried it, you probably could benefit the most! If fitting it in your day is the issue, try scheduling it first thing in the morning. It has been said, it’s easier to meditate before your are exposed to the other requirements of your day. Self awareness increases when you meditate. When we have a better sense of who we are, we can understand what we truly need and what we have to offer others. I used to have a tendency to say yes to things when I really wanted to scream “No!” Nothing major. Just little things that were cumulative and by the end of the day I was left feeling tapped out. I have a more in tuned sense of what will send me over the edge. I think that process gets tweaked with age. But meditation definitely helps. I feel like I have a better sense of who I am and what I can do! I now know I have the ability to find peace. Meditation has taught me peace comes from within. Would you like a ticket to a peaceful place? What are you going to do to get there? “The only Zen you find on the tops of mountains is the Zen you bring up there.”~ Robert M. Pirsig

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Love this. Meditation definitely isn’t just for hippies, but damn it takes work. I’ve been slack with my meditation lately, too tired, too busy, too whatever. Excuses. I need to get back into it. Thanks for the timely reminder.

    Like

    1. plankful says:

      Anytime πŸ‘πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  2. emmagc75 says:

    Great post! I wish I could get my hubby to meditate. I’m new to it, but it’s life changing. Helps me stay positive. Be well πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I just checked out your blog! I’m intrigued! I have to go back to reading πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmagc75 says:

        Intrigued? I don’t know if that’s good or bad lol. Look forward to reading more of your blog πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        Lol! It’s good! Your story is super honest! Nice job!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. emmagc75 says:

        Thanks! I’m definitely honest, sometimes maybe too much lol. I’m not perfect but I learn from my mistakes. I’m a work in progress heehee πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. plankful says:

        We are all a work in progress! Maybe the more honest we are, less ” work” needs to be done?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. emmagc75 says:

        I’ve always thought so. I think self-awareness leads to enlightenment and hopefully a path of greater existence. So feel free to tell me if I’m ever full of crap k? Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      6. plankful says:

        Lol!!! Sure!!! Same here!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

