Rob R Tiptoed Past You

Last summer my step son’s girl friend invited me to be part of her Fitbit step group challenge. I welcomed the opportunity to kick all their 20 year old asses! We didn’t meet in person. Our Fitbits tracked our steps and would sync to our phones. We didn’t know each other but could see how everyone else was doing. A daily pattern started. I would go to bed in first place. And wake up with a message, that Rob R passed me while I was sleeping!! What? I started compulsively stepping every chance I could! While marching up and down my street I decided to do some investigating! I wanted to size up the competition. I creeped on Ashley’s Facebook page to get a visual. The above image was my competitor’s profile pic! Rob R turned out to be a 25 year old active Marine! Ha! The message about Rob R is one of the periodic updates my Fitbit sends me through out the day. Does Fitbit know, when I receive information that I’m slipping, I feel compelled to start moving? Damn you Fitbit! I have a desk job! Don’t get me wrong! I love my Fitbit! I have logged thousands of extra steps due to this little pink device I wear on my hip. At times I must admit, I become obsessed with this gimmick. The other day, I was walking across the locker room wearing a towel and I automatically touched my hip to see if my Fitbit was there! No, I don’t wear it in the shower. I have developed a habit. If I’m moving, I want my Fitbit with me. Step counting challenges are examples of external motivators. Other examples of extrinsic incentives are trophies, cash or skinny jeans. Anything outside of ourselves that prompts us to do something. It’s nice when we engage in healthy activities because we want to. But superficial triggers can help us get started. What gets you moving out of your comfort zone? Do rewards, consequences or a little friendly competition give you enough reason to do the things, you don’t feel like doing? As I type this, my Fitbit isn’t functioning properly! Will it effect my desire to go the extra mile today? Absolutely! Am I prompted to purchase the Fitbit upgrade? Absolutely! I wonder if it’s waterproof!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. kalison0515 says:

    Fitbit can awaken the dormant competitor in some people. My sister checked her group rank when we were near the end of an Ohio State football game. Someone had outranked her and she had only 30 minutes to regain the top spot. The football game was ending, and getting out of the stadium was a challenge. She’s small and she elbowed her way and led the charge so she could get clear of the crowd and get her steps in. It was hilarious because she got so manic about it. Only Fitbit could have gotten her moving like that. I was impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      OMG!!! LOL!!! It’s crazy what it does to us! Your sister should of yelled, “steps are low!” I bet the crowd would of parted!! LOL!!! Last night my husband and I were at an antique auction. There was a guy sitting next to me that had to be 80. He had a Fitbit!!! I considered asking him to be in my group 🙂

      Like

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Lol glad I’m not the only one completely OBSESSED with my Fitbit. Every week starts with the workweek challenge and Friday gets me ready for the weekend challenge. I LOVE IT! I never miss a day and now there are girls at work that will walk laps around the break room table to try and keep up with me 🙂 It’s been the most motivating piece of fitness equipment I’ve ever owned. I look forward to following your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      It’s amazing how powerful that little thing is! Today is day 2 without it because it started going backwards yesterday! I am definitely getting a new one! There’s a new model coming out in March! I’m not sure I can wait that long!

      Like

      1. Elizabeth says:

        I know! Oh no! How long had you had it? I found a photo that said “I don’t think you understand. There is NO point in walking if I don’t have my Fitbit on” 😊 SO TRUE!!! I have the Charge HR and LOVE it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        I had a Fitbit for one year! I feel naked without it! Thanks for the input on yours! I’m trying to figure out which one to get next!

        Like

Leave a Reply

