Got Fat?

A wise friend has been reading a book she finds interesting! Since I love any new information about nutrition and fitness, I decided to read it too! Here’s a quote, “It’s not overeating that makes us fat, it’s the process of getting fat that makes us overeat,” Dr. David Ludwig, author of Always Hungry? explained “Insulin is like miracle-grow for fat cells. When you eat refined sugar or processed carbohydrates like bread, white potatoes and pasta, insulin levels spike driving fat cells to get hungrier – soon motivating fat storage and causing weight gain. By taming the fat cells with “healthy” fat and less fast-acting carbohydrate, your fat cells calm down, and get released back into the bloodstream to be used as energy.” Understanding how insulin works can be confusing! Dr. Ludwig explains the process in a way that increased my motivation to keep it in check! He promotes eating more nuts, avocado and other healthy fats. I must admit when I do this, it’s easier to turn away from sugar, bread and the crappy carbs. Fats help us stay satisfied longer! How do you feel about eating more fat?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    This is so true, temptation often strikes in sugar though!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      I gave up sugar for lent! Cravings are almost gone!!!!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Miriam says:

        Good for you. I wasn’t so good this year.

        Like

  2. lorigreer says:

    I follow the Mediterranean diet most of the time. When I eat sweets and processed foods, it feels as though I have been poisoned. I still eat them occasionally but pay the price. Old habits are hard to break. Thanks for the informative post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Yes! It feels like poison!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kalison0515 says:

    It’s true that eating fat doesn’t make you fat. But, some fats are healthier than others. I liberally consume ghee, coconut oil, and olive oil. I also go full fat with yogurt and coconut milk. One of the dumbest trends was no-fat / low-fat foods.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. plankful says:

      Crazy trend!!!

      Like

  4. I like things like avocados and I love nuts. I think it’s really to learn how to eat the right rations, but sugar is so addictive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I love sugar! But I feel so much better without it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love me some avocado and nuts….I love good fats!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

