Don’t Give Up


We aren’t supposed to go on diets anymore. True wellness is about lifestyle. I consistently practice a healthy regime that includes clean eating and exercise. I do a lot to stay the same. But to lose weight I have to kick it up a notch. Call it whatever you want. I’m cutting back on the chow and it’s not fun. It’s a little torturous at times. Losing weight takes extreme determination physically and mentally. I clearly understand why people say F this!

Being on a diet reminds me of being in college. It’s all consuming. There’s little room for error.When pursuing my degree everything else in my life revolved around being in school. While my friends were out clubbing and having fun, I was at home reading about Sigmund Freud and his bizarre theories. If I decided to join them, thoughts of school work were right there with me. Always thinking if I do “this” how  will it effect my study time, grade, future? Sticking to a diet takes ongoing consideration too. If I eat “this” what will the consequences be?

I’m not saying we need to be obsessed. I’m just acknowledging the effort needed. Sometimes this journey is presented as easy. Calories in, calories out. I’m here to give it to you straight. Whatever plan you are following, expect to work hard if you want to see results.

I have completed 3 weeks of our 6 week challenge. It’s definitely called a challenge for a reason. Sticking to a  weight loss plan is demanding. However the pay offs are awesome! I’m not even talking about pounds lost. I am down 4.4 pounds. The sense of accomplishment from doing something that’s difficult is incredibly rewarding and empowering. These 3 weeks have reinforced how much focus, persistence and energy it takes to slim down. People get discouraged when they put effort into their weight loss goals and don’t see results. Don’t give up! Accept that it is a tough task, but not impossible.

“Success is the result of perfection, hard work, learning from failure, loyalty, and persistence.” Colin Powell

6 Comments Add yours

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    I love the results of regular exercise. I don’t lose weight but the pros of doing it consistently are under rated

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      That’s awesome! That attitude will keep you going!

      Like

  2. Your words – forsooth!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Night shift is my downfall – it mucks up your eating pattern – I nibble whilst working – actually that’s a lie – I don’t nibble – I scoff 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      That must be difficult ! I’m a different person at night. My motivation dwindles down late in the day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had no self control 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

