Phytonutrients 

img_5955-1There was a time I used to think, the only reason to eat vegetables was because they were lower in calories than other foods. I knew they had some health benefits too. But besides carrots being good for eye sight, I wasn’t too sure about the specifics. I began educating myself about what each little plant has to offer! I suggest you do the same! Especially if you need motivation to eat more of them! Eating vegetables needs to be on everyone’s non-negotiable list.                                             “Only about one-quarter of American adults eat three or more servings of vegetables a day. If you are in the majority who does not, you are missing out on major benefits, as consuming fresh vegetables is one of the key cornerstones to optimal health.” Dr. Mercola

“Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” Michael Pollan

“The more greens you eat, the more weight you will lose.” Dr. Joel Fuhrman

“Leafy greens such as romaine lettuce, kale, collards, Swiss chard, and spinach are the most nutrient-dense of all foods.” Dr. Joel Fuhrman

“Go vegetable heavy. Reverse the psychology of your plate by making meat the side dish and vegetables the main course.” Bobby Flay

EVERYONE needs to eat vegetables to get all the vitamins, minerals, fiber, antioxidants and phytochemicals for your body to function properly! Juicing is a great way to consume the veggies you wouldn’t normally eat.

It is recommended we eat about 5 servings of fruit and vegetables each day. 3 vegetables and 2 fruits.
How many servings will you have today? Get inspired! Google a vegetable a day to learn something new!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Whoops. I didn’t eat my quota today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      It’s 7AM over here!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        You still have time. It’s 10pm here.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    You know I’m all for a healthy plate of vegetables! I’m thinking of using spaghetti squash in the place of noodles for spaghetti. I’ve tried it and really liked it. Not sure my teen sons will go along with it, however…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love veggies – but I love potatoes and meat more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

