It’s International Pat Yourself On The Back Day

 


Ok, there’s really no such thing. But if there was, what would you be giving yourself a high five for? Can you come up with numerous examples quickly? Or are you stumped because you are really hard on yourself? Most people blow off their accomplishments and become hyper focused on mistakes. How willing are you to shift your awareness to recognizing more of your accomplishments than your deficits? Or at least accepting where you are at. Self acceptance puts you on the path to happiness. You will experience a higher level of motivation when you feel good than when you feel lousy.

“The worst loneliness is not to be comfortable with yourself.” ~Mark Twain

 

I must admit something. I’m the type of person who won’t attempt tasks unless I’m confident I will ace it. I haven’t announced being on a diet in years. One reason I haven’t dieted, is the shift of going off diets and focusing on “it’s a lifestyle.” I suspect it’s also because part of me is afraid of failure. The journey towards losing weight is difficult and emotionally charged. What’s worse than disappointing yourself? Doing it publicly!       I’m different this time around. I might not have a weight loss this week. But I am ridiculously proud of my self for having my first chocolate free Easter, EVER! Today is my 2 months anniversary of no sugar! I feel terrific! My sweets free lifestyle has not resulted as a major shift in the scale. Just in my psyche and heart! I feel lighter on the inside! Today I am celebrating my ability to ignore the persuasive whispers that come from Cadbury mini eggs.                                    What would the plaque on your trophy say? 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. martinadunne says:

    Congratulations of being two months sugar free!! Great blog, love reading your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you! That means a lot!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lee Anne says:

    “…This is going to be your year!…”, my sweet friend Michele said about a week ago!

    With that motivation and push of confidence. I took a couple big leaps, I enrolled back to school working towards my BS in Psychology starting Monday! AND I entered the Lottery registration for the Marine Corp Marathon and won! I can’t be any more excited and nervous. This is my year to push the Body and the Mind!

    Thank you for all your positive vibes! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      That’s awesome! Good for you Lee Anne! You are going to do great! I’m here for you if you need any help with your studies! It is your year!!!

      Like

  3. DaisyWillows says:

    I succeed in opening up an Eating disorder group in 2016 – the humour is not lost related to your post award 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    That is wonderful. Two months free of sugar is just as big an accomplishment as a drop in the scale’s number. In fact, I’d argue it’s even more of one. Sugar has addictive qualities and can be really hard to give up. Good for you. You serve as an inspiration for us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

