It Starts With A Thought

on

  People with addictions talk about having different parts of themselves. The part that wants to make healthy positive choices. And the other part that wants to engage in the addictive behavior. I think even those of us that are not full blown addicts can relate that kind of mind struggle. I refer to the two parts as a higher self and lower self.                          Let me suggest, trying to recognize the difference between the true you and the addictive voice. What does your internal dialogue say? My lower self snuck up on me when I got home from work last night. It talked me into eating a big bowl of oatmeal before bed. Most of the time when it speaks, I can say, “screw you!” But I was tired and hungry and I just didn’t have the energy for my fitness goals at that moment. Do I think I’m addicted to oatmeal? No. But following through on a thought that comes from my lower, who gives a shit part of myself is what I’m talking about here. I also know that’s what holds me back.

When I’m being aware and focused I can ask myself “What will the consequences be if I engage in this behavior?” Then I can mindfully and consciously make a decision from a higher functioning perspective.

The addictive voice may never fully go away. But the better we are at recognizing its manipulative nature, the more successful we will be at dealing with it. The less we feed it, the less it will come around.

Urges, cravings, desires can vary in intensity. When these thoughts present themselves, try not give them energy. And if they win, no guilt. Just get back on track and take a second to consider the lesson learned.

Physical activity can be a vital part of overcoming negative behaviors. Exercise can have powerful antidepressant and anti-anxiety benefits. It helps to change your mood, energy and mindset. So does going to bed if you’re tired.

We are not helpless. We can gain control over our behavior and achieve our goals! Do you believe that? 

“Self -trust is the first secret of success” Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Yep, we all give in to those urges every now and then, whether it’s the chocolates I ate tonight or whatever other urges possess us. Like you said, it’s about getting back on track afterwards and not feeling guilty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      It’s so weird how strength, resolve ebb and flow! Back on track today!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        Good to hear!

        Like

  2. LAMorgan says:

    Yes… I beleive we can. Some people have those stronger addiction tendencies but for everyone one of us it is a challenge but i beleive we can all find that inner strength. Exercise is a huge distraction and motivation for me. To reach certain goals, habits must change! You cannot have change in your life without change.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      They say challenges make us stronger?! I feel stronger today than I did yesterday👍

      Like

  3. martinadunne says:

    Really great posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

