Try Harder


I put effort into my fitness goals this week, like I always do. I did some kind of exercise everyday, like I always do. I ate whole nutritious foods most of the time, like I always do. I drank lots of water, like I always do. But the scale remained the same. I’m not thrilled. But I’m not upset. I’ve been down this road many times before. I’ve said it 1million times. The window of opportunity for weight loss is very narrow. I know I ate too many raw almonds. I know that extra large bowl of oatmeal didn’t help. I know I could haves upped my intensity when I did cardio. I know I can come up with lots of excuses. I was busy! My mom is sick! It snowed this week. I know I just need to try harder. I heard Earth, Wind and Fire’s hit song from the 70’s on the way to the gym this morning,

“You’re a shinig star, no matter who you are. Shining bright to see what you can truly be.”

I know I need to try harder to get to where I want to be! I know I can do it! It might not be happening as quickly as I want! But I know it will happen! Everyday is a chance to begin again!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Yes it is. One foot forward …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, so true. Every day is another chance to begin again, try something new, to do things just a bit different. It sounds as though you are staying with your habits whether or not you are seeing the outcome you desire. Keep up the good work and it will pay off. Sticking with these choices requires a level of confidence in what you are doing. I am performing research on the topic of confidence and would love it if you would take a few minutes to fill out a survey I created. Enjoy the new beginning each day brings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I agree! Sure!!! I will fill out your survey!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great job! Try not to focus too hard on the numbers on the scale because they truly mean nothing. One of the fittest girls I know is exactly the same weight as she used to be before she was fit. The difference was not in the scale but in the health, muscle, and aesthetics. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks for your supportive words!!!

      Like

  4. Thank you! Your participation is much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Instead of trying harder, consider trying ‘different.’ Some times a different approach invites desired change. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      So very true. I just know as much effort as I think I put into this. I know I could do better. I need to switch up a few things to. It’s that continued process of figuring out what works.

      Like

  6. Jenny says:

    Your words could be my words 🙂 Yesterday, the gym instructor told me I was operating in cruise control. “Forget the scales.” He added that my body had adapted to a new comfort zone level. The effort gear shift meant couple of exercise changes and upping to the next level of intensity. I’m still getting my head round working out in a gym as I’m not naturally inclined for this environment. Chatting with someone during or about a workout out can be motivating. What I have found out is that we’re are not alone 🙂 :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

