Just For Now


I admit, it can be overwhelming to commit to making healthy choices forever. “A green smoothie every morning for the rest of my life?” I think AA makes a great suggestion with their slogan, “one day at a time.” When Chris and I started making smoothies, I knew I could have a green concoction each morning for a week, then longer, it’s now been 5 years. There are many factors that contribute to long term success. The topic for my Wellness Group last Saturday, was Effort, and it’s side kick Attitude. Whenever the topic of effort and attitude come up, I have to tell the story about my commute. For many many years my ride to work was about a mile and a half. Then my office moved. And my commute doubled, to 3 miles. I did that trek for a long time too. I would say things like, “I could NEVER do a long commute. I HATE driving.” Then Chris and I moved, very far away from the office. 75 miles one way to be exact. I knew with “effort” I could get to a point that I didn’t dread the ride. I also knew I had to address my attitude. Little did I know, that with the right blend of effort and attitude I would be able to LOVE my journey! In group, we discussed the influence of these 2 aspects on our wellness/fitness goals. But then we broke it down a little further. What about bursts of intense short term effort? Participants homework for the week was to think about new healthy behaviors they could commit to long term, and what could they do to step it up short term? I decided I can do periodic sprints during my cardio. 5 times, during a 30 minute cardio session, I will go as fast as I can for 20 seconds. This task incorporates a long term and short term goal. I will increase my speed for the moment. But I will plan to keep this tempo variation long term. I can’t run like a crazy woman for 30 minutes. But I can for 20 seconds! What can you do for 20 seconds? What can you commit to for the rest of your life?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ulyana Frank says:

    I’ve been offered max overtime this week at 11.5 hours a day. Most people don’t understand why I’d “put myself through that” especially because they all have this grave misconception that I’ll be paying it all back in taxes anyway (100% wrong) but it’s like you said – a burst of effort in the short term! Anything over my standard work week is paid at 1.5x BUT any overtime more than 10.5 hours in a week is paid at double time! So it’s much more effective to max out OT one week (to take full advantage of the 2x time pay) and then work a standard work week the next, then go back to maxing out OT. This helps prevent burnout while maximizing my pay checks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      And you have a great attitude! Amazing things happen outside of our comfort zones!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    It’s the smallest steps that are the easiest to take, and if we take enough of them, before we know it we’ve altered our lifestyle and reached a new and healthier place!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      So true! I’m sure you didn’t write a book in a day! It’s bit by bit! And before you know it! Ta-da!!! Done!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Carrie Rubin says:

        Bit by bit, for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

