The Truth Shall Set You Free

on


I read a statistic that 70% of alcoholics do not think they are! Even if that number isn’t completely accurate, it’s scary. My profession is to ask people about their troubles. I see a high level of denial on a daily basis. I totally get why people minimize, deny, justify and blame. But I also see how it holds us back. Yesterday I blogged about calories. I am aware if I go beyond 1700 calories a day I’m on the road to weight gain. I can stomp my feet about eating mostly healthy foods, cry about being hungry or just ignore that number. And I will stay stuck. The scale hasn’t been moving for me lately. I haven’t done anything outrageous. I just haven’t been doing what it takes. I needed a reality slap! Even though I eat plant based, whole nutritious foods, I also eat too much. Time to get honest! “Hello, my name is Michele and I need to eat less, if I want to lose weight!” What do you need to get honest about? 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! It’s so true that if you want to make progress you have to first acknowledge your weaknesses and downfalls to move forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks!!! I try to convince myself it’s not that bad because I eat pretty healthy! But even too much of that matters!

      Like

  2. rainfaerie says:

    I think I need to be honest about the fact that there will always be ups and downs. While I may be in a good place and motivated now, there will be tough times ahead where I’m not in the right mindset but I can’t let that derail me like I’ve done in the past!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I just checked out your blog!!!! You’re doing great! And you’re keeping it real! Awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. rainfaerie says:

        Thank you so much! I really appreciate that.

        Like

  3. I learned a very important lesson last week and how to get honest about how I deal with stress. 10 months into this new lifestyle and I jumped ship (temporarily) and ate my emotions for several days. I thought I had it under control, but obviously not. A work in progress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I heard a quote… If hunger is not the problem, food is not the answer. Nice job getting back on track!!!! That’s the important part!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

