Gimme Some Sugar

on


I took a break from sugar 4 months ago. Going without it was easier than I thought, so I continued longer than initially planned. After some consideration, I have decided it’s time to indulge. My husband and I have a summer tradition that involves long motorcycle rides and ice cream. We have been known to do a 200 mile jaunt, just to check out a new frozen yogurt place! I thought about having a cone free summer. Maybe we could switch to ice coffee? Maybe I could bring fruit? The above pic is a from a ride last year. I have been known to pack veggies from the garden for a road side snack. But Ice cream is our summer thing! My deliberation process helped me realize those sweet treats are consumed with love and joy. When we travel all day for the perfect cone, we don’t gobble it up mindlessly. We enjoy our special treat with out a trace of guilt. I feel good about my sugar hiatus. And I feel good about having ice cream in the summer. That’s how I know it’s a good decision. 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Absolutely. It’s all about balance and moderation. Good for you! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      It’s a different feeling than that..I gotta have it feeling!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        Yeah, I understand.

        Like

  2. Balance. I like this and will like to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. DaisyWillows says:

    You only live once!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jeannine says:

    But the ice cream after a beautiful ride is like the icing on the cake. I’m glad you’re back in the sugar game, if even just for the summer. You have helped me to be more mindful of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I enjoy every bite! Had one yesterday !!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

