Choice Is Overrated 

My program works with people that are court ordered to receive our services. They are told, “Go to group or go to jail.” Essentially they have a choice, but feel forced to engage. People ask me all the time if counseling services work if people didn’t decide to participate on their own. My answer is, “Absolutely !” We work with our clients long enough to witness the transformation from, ” I don’t want to be here!” To the next phase, “If I have to be here, I might as well get something out of it.” To the final phase, ” I needed this and I don’t want to leave.” As evolved people we pride ourselves on the ability to make choices. There is truth in that. But too many choices can be problematic. Choice paralysis is something that occurs when people have too many choices, so they do nothing. If you have numerous cook books plus access to the internet, yet can’t figure out what to make for dinner, you know what I am talking about. I think this phenomenon can occur even when a person only has 2 choices. To exercise or not. When a new exerciser has the option to stay in bed or do burpees, most don’t show up for class. When a dieter is given the choice of chips or salad, the struggle of options, will be experienced. One way to eliminate this dark hole is to “decide” there’s no choice. Decide what your goals is, plan what needs to be done to make it happen, and stop entertaining alternatives. No choice!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love that quote at the end. Unfortunately I had a friend who saw failure as they’re only option! Anyway thank you, it’s got me motivated. Great quote to give anyone no matter what their goal is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks! I love a good quote! They have the ability to get people to see things differently! Too bad your friend is unable to do that. Lots of people get stuck in negative thinking patterns. They don’t realize how powerful their thought process is.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! As someone who struggles with the exercise choice, I always choose to do something else. I really have to make a different one…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

