I Did This For You


My husband and I were at the movies recently and I overheard a conversation between the people sitting behind us. As the movie started to roll, the man said to the woman, “I want you to know, I am only seeing this for you.” My heart sank and I thought, “Hey Mr. Score Keeper, you just undid your good deed.” The movie sucked, so I’m sure the woman’s debt increased.

Doing things for others can be wonderful. But it is best done from the heart, in silence while expecting nothing in return. This might sound obvious, but I learned this lesson relatively late in life. I used to be a credit seeker. If I did something nice, I was just so damn proud of myself, I wanted talk about it. I was clueless how obnoxious it is to toot your own horn.

When I met my husband, I realized he didn’t do anything for recognition. In our 14 year relationship I don’t have one memory of him reminding me about what he has done for me. I see examples of his thoughtful gestures, through out the day. Chris is constantly renovating and decorating our old farm house. When I notice something cool, and ask him, ” How did you come up with that idea?” He will smile and say, “I thought you might like it.” His comment doesn’t come from a please notice me stance. He comes from a place of love.

My husband and I go about our days, thinking about how to make each other’s life happier and easier. What’s amazing, is it comes full circle. Sometimes I feel like Chris and I are in an unspoken, who can be nicer to the other one competition. I must say my being considerate skills are improving because I practice this silent game inside and outside of the home. I play it with friends and strangers. As I look for opportunities to be helpful to others, I swear people are nicer to me! I’m not sure if it’s actually true. It’s also possible, the more I focus on kindness, the more I experience.

I challenge you to try this game. There are 4 rules for this exercise.

1. Do something nice for someone.

2. Expect nothing in return.

3. Do it in silence.

4. Come back and let us know what happened. 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. omtatjuan3 says:

    Excellent post…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!!!!

      Like

  2. I love this! Such a powerful reminder. Challenge accepted! PS My husband would win if we were in this competition! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Awesome! Lol!!!! My husband always wins!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the idea of “all ships rising with the tide”. We hold each other up and improve together.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Erica Herd says:

    Beautiful sentiment and post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hammad Rais says:

    This is how I live by. Well mostly and I try my bet to keep it up that way. Thanks for letting me know that I’m not crazy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I used to worry about what’s in it for me? This way is much better 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a wonderful idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ourburden says:

    Love this! Its the easiest way to achieve lasting inner peace and joy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!! I believe that too!!!

      Like

  7. emmaorussell says:

    A lovely quick 5 minutes thought for the day read. Thank you for reminding me how wonderful my husband is!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      You’re welcome 👍❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

