Taking It Down a Notch


Yesterday, I spent the day at the hospital waiting to hear what was wrong with my mother. She’s medically complicated and spends a good amount of time at the doctor’s office. But this visit to the hospital was unexpected. When I arrived, she was getting tests and I couldn’t see her. I sat in her room and felt the anxiety and tears rise. I started wondering, is this the true beginning of the end. I knew I had a couple of options at that moment. I could stay in her room and worry until I got myself more worked up. Or find something to do until I had all the facts. I decided to get some fresh air. It was a beautiful day. One of the first warm days in Boston this year. I went outside, sat under a tree and looked up. I realized it was a very similar visual to my favorite backyard spot at home. The only difference was what was going on in my mind. Just looking at this green spot in the middle of the city had a calming effect on me. I still had a pit in my stomach, but it was manageable. We can’t fix or predict every stressor. But we can manipulate our responses them. We have the ability to turn it up or turn it down. My mom is going to be fine. Her diagnosis could of been a lot worse. It was still an intense day. But I could of made it a lot worse too.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. kalison0515 says:

    I remember you shared your mom’s challenges with me. I’m keeping y’all in my thoughts. It’s hard to deal with the Scary Unknown, but you pushed through it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!! It’s been a long road. I just try to do my best. I feel bad for her.

      Like

  2. Miriam says:

    Must be such a worry but hope you can keep that positive attitude up. It’s not always easy but it helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I try! It really does help! It’s been a long road! I’m not always calm!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        None of us are, hang in there!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. DaisyWillows says:

    Glad to hear Mom will be okay 🙂 hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!!!!

      Like

  4. Maurinha says:

    So glad your mom is okay. I had a similar situation with my own mother. Horrible feeling, thoughts are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thinking of you and keeping your mom in my prayers. Glad to hear it’s not too serious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

