Acting As If

on

My counseling position has been grant funded for 20 years. Last year our funding hit a road block and stopped immediately. It was no one’s fault. But it meant the program that provided services to children that witnessed domestic violence would cease, and I would be laid off the next day without warning. This was shocking and unacceptable to me. I didn’t know what to do. I listened to my gut that told me, to go to work and see what could be done. I continued to show up for work everyday, for the next month and “Act as if.” Act as if I have a great plan. Act as if everything will be fine. Act as if this is the way it’s supposed to be. All while not getting paid. This was not easy. I had a constant pit in my stomach and lots of negative thoughts. I would attempt to squash my doubtful feelings with thoughts of hope. After 30 long days and a series of unexpected events, services to victims and my position were restored.
Today my supervisor of 20 years retires. I am taking over his role as the director of the entire program. I can’t help but reflect on the past year and how things have changed. Unemployed to promoted! I must admit I am excited but nervous to take on such a huge responsibility! I am going to utilize my effective problem solving thought process from last summer. “Acting as if.” Act as if I have a great plan. Act as if everything will be fine. Act as if this is the way it’s supposed to be. The process should be easier this time because I’m getting paid and I have a nicer office! Life is funny!!!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent sharing! That’s the power of belief! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      So powerful!!!!!!

      Like

  2. That is wonderful. I work for a non-profit where my position is Grant Funded as well. We go from October-September each year. So, every year around this time it is a very uncertain time to find out if we will get funding for the next fiscal year or not.
    Congrats on the new position!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      It can be very stressful worrying about get refunded. After 20 years I felt pretty good about the process! Then boom!!! It all worked out though! Good luck to you too!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Anne says:

    Your patience and dedication as well as your faith paid off! I admire so many things about you. You often appear im my journaling with my current studies! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks LA!!! You were instrumental in everything working out! It’s definitely fate we are friends ❤️👍😄

      Like

  4. Congratulations! This is wonderful news.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks!!! So crazy but awesome!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is awesome! Best of luck to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you so much! It’s been a pretty unbelievable year!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Erica Herd says:

    Fantastic news!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Paul Carlos says:

    Awesome Awesome. Love this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Well…why thank you!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

