No One To Talk To

on

I’m a talker. If you look at me, I will smile at you. I am a group facilitator! I initiate conversations for a living. I look for the in. I find ways for people to connect. I chat with many people through out my day. My socialization starts with my morning work out. I have been going to the same gym for 15 years. The daily banter starts the minute I walk in the door. But not today. I’m at a different gym. As I look around and realized I don’t know anyone, I felt a little uncomfortable. This experience is something I have been dealing with a lot lately. My new job requires me to attend meetings where I don’t know anyone. I constantly feel like the new kid as I walk in and assess the crowd. Where should I sit? Who looks friendly? Who will I eat lunch with? I am at this unfamiliar gym because it’s closer to one of those meetings I will attend after my workout. I will put energy into meeting new people then. Right now I am going to enjoy the quiet. I am going to keep to myself and do my thang. After I finish my blogging while doing cardio, I will march down to the weight room. I will still smile and say hello if someone else goes first. But for the next hour I’m going to enjoy some alone time. When was the last time you did something by yourself? 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. heartandsoul777 says:

    i spend more time by myself then anything but ive grown my life to be this way after leaving a lonely marriage 17 years ago i decided to become my own best friend hahahaa sounds weird but truly best friend ive ever had! if you find youve no one to chat with around you then you could always sing to yourself or hum. hope you have a great day! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you! It’s so true! We do need to be our own best friend. It makes us easier to be other people’s best friend. Today was a nice reminder that I like not talking all the time šŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. heartandsoul777 says:

        yes i find its easier for me to be super nice to other people when im being super nice to myself . to bad it takes us so long in life to figure all this out i would have loved to be this happie and friendly in my 20s! but really im just so glad i feel it now. you know you read all these things that say stuff like ‘look within’ and think what the heck does that even mean but then you try it and find so much stuff about yourself that you just really like! turning 50 was def one of my favorite days. things get so much clearer as we grow old hahaa i love it! Good for you to find a positive in a new situation! šŸ™‚

        Like

  2. ejfpaff says:

    I’m impressed at your ability to blog and workout at the same time! Those are some skills!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Lol!!! 99% of this entire blog was written while doing cardio šŸ˜œ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ejfpaff says:

        You are my yoda!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        Lol!!!! Ha ha!!!!!

        Like

  3. Miriam says:

    I do lots of things by myself. I write freelance at home while hubby’s at work so if anything I have too much time to think and over analyze.

    Like

    1. plankful says:

      I guess I don’t realize how much time I’m with other people until I’m not. And it feels weird. The pic on this post is my back yard and my favorite spot to sit for quiet time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        That’s lovely. Enjoy.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I do some things by myself and thoroughly enjoy it. With a husband and 6 children, it is hard to get a moment on my own. However when I was going through my divorce 6 years ago, I went out to eat and to the movies by myself all the time and I loved it. I go to the gym by myself now too, though I don’t blog while I am there…mmm! I too am a facilitator for a living, I love initiating conversations amongst people šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. plankful says:

      6 kids!!! Quiet time must be rare! Lol! I’ve never gone to the movies by myself! I should try it!!!! I do almost all of my blogging from the elliptical !

      Liked by 1 person

  5. CarissaMarie says:

    I spend much of my time with my hubby and children, but I do find me time to think or, like now while my daughter sleeps, write. I’m a people person, always have been and I love to talk as well. However, need some alone time now and then, I think we all do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I agree! I think it makes us miss our loved ones more!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. CarissaMarie says:

        It really does!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m getting better at being alone, but I’m an extravert and I get my energy from people. The last few years I’ve come to actually enjoy some alone time though. It’s usually when I’m out running or in nature. I’m amazed that you blog doing cardio. How do you do this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Lol!!!! I do it on my phone while on elliptical, bike, rebounder or walking on treadmill up hill! Being alone can be fabulous once ya find your comfort level!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Felicia says:

    Right now. All the time. Actually, I have to spend time by myself because I am an introvert lol. However, I have learned how to be an extrovert as well and it still is a little weird being put in a new environment. Growing up I had a lot of that but it definitely teaches independence sometimes to a deficit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Going back and forth between introvert and extrovert keeps things interesting! It’s a good quality to be comfortable with both situations.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Felicia says:

        Yes it has come in tow on several occasions

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

