I’m Fabulous!


If my Saint Bernard puppy Valentino could talk, I’m sure he would say, “I’m adorable! Being big is fabulous! Everyone loves me!” Valentino will confidently waddle up to everyone assuming they want to give him a squeeze. His high level of confidence is contrary to how most humans feel. Most of us think to ourselves, “I look old.” “I can’t do that.” “They won’t want talk to me.” This thought process shapes everything we do… or don’t do. Our confidence is impacted by many things: our interactions with others, upbringing, life experiences. Our self image is mostly impacted by something we have control over: self talk. We are all pretty hard on ourselves. We don’t realize how powerful our thoughts are. Some of us even believe negative self talk is a motivator. That’s simply not true. Self criticism leads feeling lousy, which can lead to depression. Depression is not a motivator. When we feel good, we do our best. What if we could increase self love? Would our experiences be different if we walked around thinking, ” I can do this! I’m strong! I am powerful!” This is my self talk when I exercise. I recently benched 100 pounds, I can do leg extensions with entire rack, and I can do a 46 minute plank! I am keenly aware of my self talk as I prepare to do a 47 minute plank (my gift to myself for my 47th birthday). I know I could easily talk myself out of it…or talk myself into it! Bring it!!!!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. urbanhijab says:

    Amen. Love positivity. Keep spreading the love!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. calmkate says:

    Very well stated! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you for your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

