Too Much Of A Good Thing

                             One day, at the gym I was unusually hot. The seasons were changing and the air conditioner hadn’t caught up. I drank more water than usual, to try to cool off. Not a crazy amount. To be honest I can’t remember exactly how much. Maybe 3 bottles that were 16 ounces each. I completed my work out and went to the office. Within a few minutes I felt very very ill. I was nauseous, light headed and slightly delirious. I’m never sick, so I had no frame of reference for what was going on. There were other strange symptoms and I was pretty freaked out. A probation officer colleague came into the office, and I apologized for not being myself. I told him I wasn’t feeling well and shared my symptoms with him. He said, “I know what’s wrong with you! It’s called flushing. We lock people up for that!” Apparently, I drank too much water and knocked my electrolytes out of whack. Criminals will drink a lot of water to attempt to get drugs out of their system, so they won’t test positive. Probation said they see people with my symptoms all the time and it’s actually quite dangerous.                                                              What was most shocking to me about my water intoxication ordeal, was how close the threshold was between ok and not ok. I was doing what everyone tells us to do. But a little too much, turned out to be WAY too much. Even when our intentions are to be healthy, we need to find a balance. I consumed too much water. Some people exercise too much. Diet too strictly. Sleep too long. Stretch too far. I don’t think people wake up and say, “Today is the day I will overdue it!” It’s something that happens when we are not informed or being mindful. All extreme behaviors have consequences. We can undo all our hard work pretty easily. Are you feeling off balance? Does it make sense to ease up a bit to find your stability to go long term? 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. kalison0515 says:

    That was fascinating….I guess you really need to pace yourself and figure out when you are adequately hydrated. I know I amped up water intake when I was preparing for a tennis tournament on an extremely hot and humid weekend. I’ve also amped it up to help me recover from jet lag and be less affected by altitude. Hmmmm….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I always thought it took a gallon or more! After that happened I did some research. It’s actually quite common for marathon runners too! Be careful!!!

      Like

  2. Claire says:

    Wow that’s really good to know – I drink a LOT of water, and had no idea I could over do it! I’m guessing it’s not too much as I’ve never experienced the symptoms you describe, but worth bearing in mind. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      I never knew either!!!

      Like

  3. I’m sorry if my english is not perfect but I read your post and I found it interesting so I wanted to comment it. Unfortunately every health show, publicity and even doctors says to drink much water, but they don’t say that we consume a lot through food already. Fruits, vegetables, even meat and fish have water. So it’s really common to overdo with drinking. Good thing is that luckily when young and fit and healthy people overdo it they feel ill for a while than normally it goes back to normal, but the real emergency comes for our elderly people. Not only because they will suffer more and the can be in real danger after “flushing”, but because when we get old our internal neurological ways of heat and thirst homeostasis may be unpaired, leading us to overdo it more easily. I got a couple patients back when I was beginning to work as a psychologist who during the summer went to the hospital for this same reasons. And when they got back (they luckily survive) they told me it happens a lot. So good post, it’s important people know about it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you for your feedback! The experience was really scary. You are right! Everyone says ,” drink water!” But no one talks about the dangers! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jeannine says:

    Scary stuff!!! And it’s something so common. I think maybe in your subconscious you were channeling your inner criminal. Love this one, pal, thank you for sharing!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Lol!!! It’s a good reminder to remain mindful!

      Like

  5. maureenrose7 says:

    I had no idea this could happen! I work out in a heated salt water pool at my gym and drink a lot of water throughout so its good to know I really need to be mindful and not over do it! Very good post! huh see you learn somethin new every day! Thanks for that! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Crazy right!? I have definitely had days when I drank more and it didn’t happen. Who knows the exact variables. It’s just good to be aware of the potential!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. maureenrose7 says:

        Yes it absolutely is! getting rushed to the er for drinking to much water, yup sounds like that would be me hahaa! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. D'Dream says:

    I just believe that moderation in all things is what should be pursued. Even drinking water at extreme could be fatal

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

