It’s Temporary 

                  When things are not going our way, it’s tempting to get caught up in the moment. If the scale doesn’t say what we want, we might think, “I’ll never lose weight.” The doctor doesn’t tell us what we want to hear, “This is terrible!” An unexpected demanding email can ruin our day. All circumstances ebb and flow. Nothing stays lousy. Unless we let it.                                                  When things feel stressful, it’s important to know we can disrupt the negative thoughts. Being in nature does the trick for me. I like this is a picture of my back yard. The foliage is beautiful…. right now. Yet the stacked wood is ready to go for the next season. It’s a reminder, “This too shall pass.”                 We may not be able to smile through every situation. We need to accept the good and the bad. It’s up to us, to keep on moving and not get stuck! Things always get better! 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike Barnato says:

    Nice sentiments and images!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for writing this post. I really needed to read it this morning. Happy autumn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you for your kind words! I really needed that this morning 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Miriam says:

    So very well said. Yes, it’s all temporary… Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      I needed a good reminder too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. georgie259 says:

    I had this exact thought yesterday, when something very small happened to me and turned my morning frown upside down. In fact I wrote a very similar post! Next time I’m having a bad day, I’m going to try and remember that moment and how one tiny action can have such large impacts. As Winston Churchill said, “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      It’s so helpful to step back and realize what we can do! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Good to keep in mind! `Your backyard looks like mine, do you live in MA? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

