2 Thumbs Up!

What’s the chance that yesterday, my mother and I were both waiting for cancer test results? This was my first trip down biopsy lane. Yet a road well traveled for my mother. I am thrilled to report we are both cancer free! This experience was filled with lessons to be learned. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Appreciate good health. I also realized, I’m lousy when it comes to other people’s physical pain and sickness. I have a shake it off mentality. I’m not particularly helpful, I say the wrong thing and tend to minimize the situation. However, I will give myself credit for being compassionate and supportive when people are struggling emotionally.                I now know, “Don’t think about it” invokes rage. When experiencing a medical challenge, it’s all you think about. When they said, “Don’t think about it.” I heard, “Don’t tell me.” I believe in the power of support. When you are the supporter, it’s not up to you to decide who needs support. When people need support, they need support. That doesn’t mean we have to do anything crazy. It means as helpers we need to be present, available and listen. These 3 things go along way. 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Great news for you and your mom!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Angela says:

    AMAZING news for you and your Mother XO

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!!! Puts things in perspective!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Miriam says:

    That’s wonderful news. Must be such a relief.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!! So much to be thankful for !!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. omtatjuan3 says:

    Don’t sweat the small stuff is so true… This too will pass

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Yes it will!!!!

      Like

  5. soulanceblog says:

    Yes! I love to hear good news!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    Good news – happy to hear it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

