Sameness

                        I think I am part robot. My preference is to play it safe. I do similar work outs, listen to the same music and eat the identical meals. Day after day. Without a push (or drag), I would remain stuck. I wouldn’t try new things, meet new people, or go to new locations. I wouldn’t fall down, mess up or grow as a person.                 I think we miss out when we don’t expand our horizons. In recent years I have made an effort to take more chances, challenge myself and see difficulties as an adventure. That also means I need to to worry less about failure, what others think or looking foolish. I attempt to treat new situations as an adventure.                     When was the last time you tried something new? How about today? You don’t have to do anything extreme. Start small. Let go of preconceptions, have an open mind and jump! Or maybe just lean. Order something different. Drive another route. Bring someone a coffee and tell them how much you appreciate them. It’s not easy to break out of your regular routine. Embrace your experience! Look for lessons! Create opportunities to expand your view! Not all experiments turn out as planned. However, some of the best memories are about looking ridiculous, having an awkward experience or making a mistake. 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. soulanceblog says:

    I too love my comfort zone. I actually have to write down intentions for the month to give myself a reminder to move out of it sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      That’s a great idea! I think we all tend to go on auto pilot without some sort of prompt to try something new! How boring! Right?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. soulanceblog says:

        Sometimes boring feels good lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        Yes it does!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Oh I love this. Resonates deeply. I’m one who definitely likes my comfort zone though like you I’m trying to take more risks and embrace new things, even if they’re very small. Thanks for a motivating post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you!!!! I wrote this yesterday to prepare for a day filled with the unknown and I still clung to the familiar. I need a little coaxing to step into the land of challenges! It feels weird! But I will be pleased when I did it 👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        I absolutely know the feeling. Go for it.

        Like

  3. c.l.skellern says:

    I am certainly a creature of habit too. I always eat the same things, take my lunch breaks at the same time, do certain things at certain times in the evening. But in recent years I have become more adventurous, and have definitely done things outside my comfort zone… and I’ve enjoyed it!

    Like

  4. Michelle says:

    I make a point to do something that scares me. It makes my comfort zone feel like a reward, or a place of solitude until I am brace enough to scare myself again. My fear evaporates into awesome exhilaration after I give myself a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I love the way you put it! Your comfort zone is the reward! You’re right! Fear does start to diminish!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

