What Do You Love?

 I can vividly remember walking through my house as a child, knowing each vase, piece of china had a back story. I didn’t know then, but a seed was being planted. I always thought old items were unique and cool. My love for antiques blossomed in 2010 when my husband and I went to our first auction. I remember being nervous to scratch my head or move, fearing I would be purchasing something I didn’t want, or couldn’t afford! After that first night, I was hooked! Attending an auctions felt like I was shopping, gambling and watching a diy show all at the same time. The experience was interesting,exciting and got us thinking. My husband Chris and I have gone back week after week for years. We don’t know much about antiques. We buy what we like and enjoy the learning process. ​​This past weekend, we took a leap and decided to rent space in an antique store and start selling! I’m so excited I can’t stand it! It has been said, you will feel it in your gut when you make a good decision. It’s also been said, if you do what you love, it won’t feel like work! On our day off ( from our full time jobs that we love), Chris and I moved furniture in the rain, dusted off glass, and made dozens of tiny labels. We had a blast! When we left I said to my husband, “I can’t wait to play store again!” Chris replied sounding equally enthusiastic ,”It’s not playing store! It’s store!” I ask you readers, “What do you love? Where does your heart guide you? What can you do with it?”

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Congrats – I hope you do well!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks you! I’m sure there will be future blogs on this topic!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BelleUnruh says:

    I think your store will be a lot of fun. I used to go to auctions too and loved them. I love woodworking/carving now. I just started this year.

    Like

  3. Karuna says:

    After I read you first paragraph, I had the thought, “I wonder if they will ever start selling.” I was excited when the next paragraph gave the answer to that question. I’m glad you are following your passion.

    I had a friend who was a therapist that decided she wanted to work in a hardware store as well as do psychotherapy. She loved it.

    For a two years, many years ago, I worked in a warehouse that did mail order for children’s clothes, costumes and toys, I worked in October and November so was very involved there during the Halloween season. Sometimes I ran a pallet jack, sometimes I packaged the orders and sometimes I worked with supplies that were coming in. That job was in addition to my work as a psychotherapist. I would have done it longer if it wasn’t too much for my back. I loved working with the young people and being in a realm totally different than my normal one. And I loved being able to go home afterwards and not think about it.

    I”d forgotten about that part of my life….. I think I was in my 50’s somewhere. Thanks for bringing back the memory.

    Like

    1. plankful says:

      You ran a pallet jack? That’s awesome! I used to be nervous to deviate too far from what I’m trained to do! Now I love to try out other “work” activities!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Karuna says:

        It is so far from what people would expect I would do. I will have to write about that sometime.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        I read in your blog that you went to Amma in NH? New Hampshire???

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Karuna says:

        Yes…… that was in 1989! She went to a retreat center there for another two year but then it changed to Boston. When I read your blog I noticed you were from New Hampshire……

        Liked by 1 person

  4. msw blog says:

    What an exciting new venture so glad your finding your passion . I love a good antique store and estate sale myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thank you! It’s a nice diversion from counseling! Keeps me balanced.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msw blog says:

        That’s how I feel about my Kitchen Adventures 🙂
        https://reallifeofanmsw.com/category/kitchen-adventures

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

