All Is Well


Where’s your focus? Do you spend more energy thinking about what could go wrong or on what is going well?
I believe in planning for the future. We need to be prepared. We don’t need to worry about every detail that could potentially go wrong. 


There is a balance between thinking things through and obsessing.
In my case, it takes deliberate attention. My mind’s default is to slide into the hundreds of “what ifs.” I have learned several things from training my brain to go towards what is working.

1. It feels better. Focusing on the good stuff makes me happier.

2. The majority of what I worry about, never happens.

3. The more I “force” my brain to go in the optimistic direction, the easier it gets. 
Try maximizing the positive and minimizing the negative. See what happens.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a good reminder. We become what we think about, and as the wonderful Wayne Muller tells us, if we spend all our time looking for what’s wrong, we simply become good at seeing life as broken. Thanks for a timely reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      I don’t know who Wayne Muller is! But I am going to google him right now! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. His book, “How, Then, Shall We Live?” is a beautiful exploration of what it means to live whole-heartedly and with grace. And his writing is transcendent! It’s about 20 years old, but still one of my favorites.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. plankful says:

        Sounds like a great read! Thanks for the suggestion!!!

        Like

  2. Miriam says:

    So very true, I love this. So often we get caught up in a whirlwind of worry and we need to refocus. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

