Not Today

on


I attended an all day conference on addiction yesterday. I would say it was one of the best conferences I have ever been to. The speaker was a doctor and he talked about how addictive behaviors impact the brain. It was fascinating and frightening.
The most powerful part of the day, was when the doctor talked about what happens to our brains when we don’t practice impulse control. The frontal lobe actually atrophies, gets smaller and becomes impaired! The frontal lobe is the part of the brain that handles decision making, personality, memory and other useful tasks. I want a fully functioning frontal lobe! I also want ice cream when I see it….
At the end of my day, I had an urge to talk my husband into going out for an ice cream. However, I have several eating opportunities this weekend and I know a Thursday night ice cream was not in my best interest. The desire was strong, yet the information about a lazy brain was fresh. I decided to utilize my frontal lobe and practice good impulse control. It wasn’t easy, but it was possible and worth it. I want a fit, highly active, effective frontal lobe more than ice cream!


Not to say I won’t have ice cream in the near future. I will. I’m just trying to avoid giving in to spontaneous food cravings that aren’t really about enjoying a special treat. 


As we engage in behaviors about food, checking email and other automatic tasks today, let’s stop and consider going against the urge. Remember your brain needs a workout to stay strong! 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Fascinating and frightening. I must practice this more often. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I needed to read this for so many reasons. Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Thanks for reading!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

