Is It True?

on


On Monday I told my mom I was going for a bike ride. The first one, since I was a kid. I told her, I was nervous. She said, “You should be. I remember how wobbly you were.” She spoke of a time she watched me ride a bike around her driveway, as an adult. Apparently at one point between being 17 and 47 my mother witnessed my bicycle skills? I have no memory of this incident. All I know is, her words did not help my confidence. In fact it made me rethink my plan of bike riding. However, I had already decided this was THE day to conquer my fear! 


From the first moment of pedaling around, I LOVED riding my bike! On the way home, I couldn’t stop telling my husband how awesome this experience was. I declared, bike riding is my new thing!!!

Between mapping out future rides, researching information about bike paths, I have been analyzing my fear that lasted 30 years. Why we as I so frightened? I never had a bad experience. I realized my fear was based 100% on what people told me. Not just my mother’s memory of my lack of balance. I also knew my sister fell off her bike and chipped her tooth. Being told over and over to wear a helmet makes the activity sound treacherous!
I’m proud of myself for busting this myth. Bike riding isn’t scary! It’s wonderful! What myth/ lie have you been told that holds you back? Is there something you don’t do because you don’t think you can? Ask yourself, “Is it true?” Also, be cautious of what you say to others. Words and beliefs are powerful! 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Becky Keating says:

    How WONDERFUL!!

    You can start the rail trail path here in town, too…start at Turntable park and ride all the way to Brookfield. This end of the trail is not a pretty as the W/boro end, but there is lots less foot traffic and very woodsy! Enjoy. >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      Maybe you will join me someday 😊

      Like

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Glad you rediscovered the joy. Bike-riding can be great fun and you see so much more than you would in a car. I like renting bikes on vacation, getting to know a new place at a slower pace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. plankful says:

      So much fun!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

